Snow day: campus may be closed but my kitchen isn’t!

So due to many of my classmates’ prayers, the main UMES campus decided to close today and the pharmacy school administration actually followed suit. (Last year we were told that due to following a different academic schedule because we’re accelerated and year-round that if the undergrad campus administration closed campus for a day that didn’t mean that the pharmacy school had to either) I’m personally thankful for the day off to finish the paper on the use of antipsychotics in patients with Alzheimer’s patients that is due tomorrow at 5pm and to finish my case studies for tomorrow’s Ambulatory Care elective after class. I didn’t get a chance to do much this past weekend after passing Friday’s first (final) assessment and then heading to Gatlinburg, TN with Phi Delta Chi for Bob’s Annual Gatlinburg Retreat. I’ll post about that later.
But I’m staying here with Russell and decided to use this snow day to do some cooking I haven’t been able to do since school started again two weeks ago. I saw a similar recipe on Pinterest and decided to tweak it a bit to create my own. I’m happy to say it’s one I can add to the list that Russell enjoyed. Although I think there is only one recipe on the list of things he didn’t like…

Bacon Chicken Cheesy Tater Tot Casserole

20140122-143810.jpg

2 lb bag of tater tots
2 boneless chicken breasts
8 pieces of bacon cooked and cut up (I used turkey bacon)
One bag of 8 oz Mexican shredded cheese
One can of cream of chicken soup
One and a half cup of milk

Put half of the tater tots on the bottom of your glass casserole dish. Cover with a handful of cheese, one chicken breast cut up and half of your bacon. Apply another layer of tater tots followed by the rest of the chicken and bacon. Mix the cream of chicken and milk in a bowl and cover the casserole. Add the rest of the cheese on top. Put in the oven for 50 minutes at 350 degrees.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

