There’s a reason why they never wrote a song about being hot for teacher’s son…

Red

Oh Red…Red was another guy I met from off OkCupid. In addition to me listing in my dating profile what I do and study for a living, I even included a white coat picture from when I was on rotation one day. Our white coats have the school name embroidered on our left breast and this was clearly seen in my picture.

Image
This is the actual picture I posted. So probably from April 2013.

So, I had messaged Red with some question about something off the wall he wrote in his profile. I can’t really remember exactly what that was at the moment, but it’s not really important either. He must have gone through my profile (see, some guys DO read those profiles after we spent so long to write every minute detail…ok not every minute detail but you know what I mean) and came across my picture because the next few messages went something like this:

Red: “So do you go to UMES School of Pharmacy?”

Me: “Yes I do”

Red: “Do you know Dr. So-and-So”

Me: “Yes I do. He’s actually teaching tomorrow. How do you know him?”

Red: “HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA that’s my dad”

The correspondence basically stopped at that point. Until he randomly messages me a few weeks later saying “Oh hey, you’re hot. Let’s hang out”. I don’t know if he forgot our initial conversation or not. Well in his profile he made it clear to mention the blog he’s working on. So being the creeper that I am, I found it. And his Twitter account as well. I noticed that I will forever live in infamy as “my dad’s student that I once went out with”.

Red and I decided to meet at this one bar downtown. He told we would have to meet someplace that was within walking distance since he had to sell his car in order to move from California to Maryland. He’s 28 and doesn’t have a car…but I overlooked that thinking some of the quirky facts from his profile had to make up for this fact.

I was sitting inside the bar expecting to see the long haired hipster from his pictures walk in but instead was faced with an androgynous ginger who wore a sweater vest that resembled something that the 70s spit up.

Conversation seemed easy except for when he said that even his dad asked him if he was straight, and he seemed to want to include that he had in fact had sex with a female before. I don’t blame my professor for that question—I’m on a date with your son and even I am having doubts. Red seemed to be another one of those guys that like cats a little too much. By the time we decided to end our date I offered to drive him home since the temperature had really picked up. When I dropped him off at his house he told me that his dad wasn’t home for the weekend and asked if I’d like to come in to see his cats. Smooth line, but even this crazy cat lady will pass on that.

Shortly after that date, I would frequently check his Twitter to see what he was up to (and of course because I’m nosey) and to my dismay I was referred to again as “his dad’s student” and how it was a weird situation. Sit down, boy. It’s not like I told your dad I met you off an online dating site…which is something he was afraid of admitting. I think I read last that he moved back home…so I guess I won’t have to worry about running into him coming to visit his dad at work anytime soon.

This entry was posted in Bad Dating Stories, Relationship ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s a reason why they never wrote a song about being hot for teacher’s son…

  1. caseyvidgen says:

    I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

  2. Brandtastic says:

    I hadn’t heard of them…well maybe Skout, but that was after I deleted my site. I found Okcupid and POF to be decent compared to the other sites that you sometimes had to pay for, but I thought that OkCupid had slightly less creepy guys that POF did.

Leave a Reply

