I’m not working on a doctorate degree so that I can end up working your pyramid scheme

Image

In case anyone isn’t aware of what these are, Wikepedia defines this as “pyramid scheme is an unsustainable business model that involves promising participants payment or services, primarily for enrolling other people into the scheme, rather than supplying any real investment or sale of products or services to the public”. Or most people just know this as a scam. 

I have a friend who months ago talked about making extra money on the side by not doing anything. So I asked him about it. Only to find out that his version of not doing anything was a lot different than mine. For a job that you could have on the side and make money with no real effort actually turned out to be a pyramid scheme-selling services for this one company and basically harassing friends and family to sign up as well. The start up cost was $500-with no real guarantee that you’ll get people to sign up for these services since they are ones that everyone already utilizes. Except here was the catch-you are suppose to encourage your other peers to sign up for your services because it’ll be cheaper for them in the long run. It would only take a 5 minute visit to their personal website with said services but if people have no complaints or just don’t want to sign up, you can’ twist their arm and make them want to look or even sign up.

I originally told him I’d have to think about it–and after talking to people that I know it wouldn’t be worth the $500 I would lose. People such as my  mom are set in their ways (not to mention she’s technologically challenged) that she’s not going to take time to sign up for a service she already has since she said this sounds shady. Russell said the same thing. But that’s where you’re to annoy other friends and family! I don’t have time for that. I even told my friend when he kept asking me about it. I have finals every other Friday so I’m studying non-stop every other week. His response: “Well you have that other week that you’re not that you could work on it”. Uh…no. 

One guy has gone as far to keep stating that people could create their own wealth with this company, but what they forget is that some people won’t need some “get rich quick” scheme in order to make a substantial amount of money. I’ve made comments before about how much I’m racking up in student loans (I’ll graduate with $168,000 in loans next May) and it’s been suggested that if people have a Plan B they wouldn’t need the additional schooling. Um, no. I’m not working on my doctorate to just want to give it up because I think I can make more money trying to harass people to buy your services. I can understand how people who didn’t plan accordingly after college can find this to be a gem, but not everyone fits in the population of those who have a Bachelor degree and only make $30,000 a year in which this would seem like their golden ticket to getting rich. 

I know it’s hard for some people to believe, but sometimes people do go into medicine and pharmacy because it’s what they want to do. It’s not all about our future 6-figure incomes (but it is nice to think about) 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

