Why your prescription will NOT be guaranteed in 15 minutes or less. 

So now that I can work full time again (but still not as a pharmacist until I take and pass my pharmacy boards-NAPLEX) I’ve been taking full advantage of this. I actually asked my boss if I could do a few 12 hour shifts (to prepare myself for the next 40 years or so) and ended up working my first full day yesterday. I survived…but it will be a slight adjustment.   

Yesterday’s progression: Happy & shiny right before going in at 9am, still somewhat energized at lunch (3pm), then definitely ready to get out of the store by 9pm. 

We’ve been pretty busy lately…but that just means it’s good news for job security. And since we are one of these pharmacies that have a drive thru that just holds us up when it comes to filling prescriptions in the time we told you to come back. Years ago I remember a few pharmacies that had this 15 minute wait time guarantee but that’s just not realistic. And sometimes explaining it to someone who doesn’t work behind the pharmacy counter still doesn’t get it as well. At one point I was stuck at the drive through with 5 cars in line. It was just the pharmacist and I (the one tech had already left for the day) so he was tending to drop off, filling, checking and then waiting on patients at other register. If the first person in the drive thru drops off a script to be filled, I can’t get to it while waiting on the next 4 cars so it most likely may not be ready in 15 minutes. Even if my pharmacist took the script to fill he still had other priorities such as prescriptions he may be working on before this one or patients picking up scripts. 

I’m not trying to whine about how hard it is…it’s not but I think it would be nice if patients understood what exactly we are doing back here. It’s not just slapping a label on the bottle. We only wish it could be that simple. Insurance is a big thing that holds us up. You may bring in a new insurance card and I enter the information that’s on it but that information that the insurance company provided still isn’t right. I spent 10 minutes on the phone with an insurance company who had different information on the card they sent the patient and then by the end learned that their insurance wouldn’t even work at our pharmacy. Thanks for letting me know when I first called. And this can happen more than once a day. 

Not to mention if the doctor wrote for a medicine but didn’t include clear writing (we’ve all seen doctors’ handwriting), confusing directions, wrong strength or just left off information-that means we need to call the office and get it straight. And sometimes you can’t get through to the doctor…you have to leave a message with one of the nurses with hopes that they’ll get back to you soon. 

After we’ve entered your prescription and insurance into the computer we can fill it. That’s generally the easy (and less time consuming) part but if you have multiple prescriptions you dropped off it will take a while to process them all and fill. Not to mention if we were currently working on another prescription when you first walked in. 

So ultimately your prescription may take a little longer than we told you but it’s not because we’re twiddling our thumbs back here. We also don’t want to be rushed to ensure that we don’t make mistakes-some mistakes may be fatal.

So please be patient with us and we’ll get you the correct medication so that you can return another day. 
 And on another note… 

I work for one of those companies that require you to wear their company colors. So why not have fun with what you do wear? Although my feet were killing me by the end of the day so I will not be wearing these shoes again to work. 

This entry was posted in Daily selfies, Pharmacy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

