Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, Brussell style. 

This weekend Russell and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary (it was Monday). I had told him I’ve never been to Virginia Beach despite it only being a 2.5 hour drive south of us. 

So that’s where he took me after I got off from work Saturday night. 

We stayed at a hotel where he got a great deal online. When we were driving down he told me when he called to confirm our details that morning he was informed we had a handicapped room with a king size bed but somehow when we got there we got a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room (still with a king size bed). Not too bad for his $85 deal. 

 Although the tub being right next to the bed was kind of weird. 

So we unpacked our things and headed out to dinner after changing.   Yes, he’s wearing flip flops with dress pants and a button down. He left his shoes home.  

We went to dinner at this place my friend, who lives in VA beach, recommended-Catch 31. It was pretty swanky and expensive but we don’t do this all the time so it wasn’t bad. 

But while we were taking about where to do brunch the next day he reminded me how we need to find a hobby that both of us can do. So he suggested we visit these places that are featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. And that’s what we did. 

So we found Citrus in VA beach and it didn’t disappoint. There was a 25 minute wait for a table so we sat in their back patio area and ordered some drinks. I ended up drinking 4 Spiked Arnold Palmers before noon. No regrets!  


When we finally got seated we saw the menu items featured on the show. I never saw this episode but it was neat to see what they made on the show.  

Russell almost ordered the soft shell crab Benedict but current market price was $22.95 so he passed. 

  But I did end up getting a veggie omelette and potato pancake. I would definitely recommend the potato pancake if you’re a fan of the starchy vegetable. 

This trip didn’t disappoint and we’re excited to start planning more local trips before planning longer trips to visit other parts of the country. 

P.S. “Brussell” is the name that my friend gives to any mention of future kids that myself (Brandy) and Russell may have. I’ve just adopted it for our nickname since I’m still adamant that I don’t want kids. 

 

This entry was posted in Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

