Pinterest: deconstructed- Roasted Orange and Corn cream soup 

So this past year I’ve really welcomed my domestic diva and I’ve been watching a lot of Chopped and cooking recipes I’ve found off Pinterest. 

Sometimes I combine the two. Like tonight. 

Now that I have all this free time (when not working of course) I’ve started really cooking again. I made this recipe last night and fell in love with the roasted orange slices. I knew I had to make something with roasted orange. 

And since it’s getting cooler outside and the fact that I can eat soup no matter the season I decided to make some kind of soup. 

After putting away my leftover chicken from last night’s recipe I saved the broth that was in the bottom of my roasting pan. Hold on to that…I’ll need it later. 

I took a can of unsalted yellow corn and the leftover orange slices on a baking sheet to roast at 400 degrees. I didn’t really time it but I did end up burning half the corn since I was busy doing something else as well. So make sure you keep an eye on those. 

In a big pot I put a stick of butter, chopped half of onion, half cup of fresh mushrooms, a pound of chopped asparagus, and another can of unsalted yellow corn. After 10 minutes of letting that simmer I took the broth from last night and added that to the pot with a cup of regular chicken broth. At this time I also added the little bit of roasted corn and orange slices and a pint of heavy whipping cream. Season with salt, thyme, rosemary and some lemon pepper. I just eyeballed these but I know not to go overboard   

Let that simmer for 20 minutes and dinner was ready. 

 

The oranges cooked down and gave this nice hint of flavor to the cream soup. 

I can’t wait to take this with me to work tomorrow. Hopefully it’s not too hectic and I’ll actually get time to enjoy and not just inhale my food. 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

